SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-03-2007, 01:04 AM   #1
inspector lee
Inspector Lee
 
inspector lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Attenuated shadows with software render?

Is there a way to get nice attenuated shadows using only the maya software render (rather than mental ray)?
inspector lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 02:00 AM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

attenuated? yes,

in the light, go down to the shadow>raytracing tab and there should be one of 2 options. light radius or light angle. just set those as high as you want
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 05:27 AM   #3
inspector lee
Inspector Lee
 
inspector lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What I meant to say was without using Ray tracing (Maya software render only)
I've heard that you can hook up a dmap shadow and then tint the shadow by distance, but I'm not sure how to do that (sounds like something that would require a decent knowledge of mel scripting- which I don't have unfortunatly)
inspector lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 05:30 AM   #4
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

hmm, thats the filter size setting i think.....

anyway, why use Dmap shadows and not raytracing?
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2007, 05:41 AM   #5
inspector lee
Inspector Lee
 
inspector lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just thought it would render faster. The scene has a lot of lights and geometry in it, and I'm already breaking it into several passes.
inspector lee is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.