SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / split edge ring tool
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-03-2007, 04:53 PM   #1
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default split edge ring tool

ok, here's the question -

When you use the split polygon tool you can set the number of magnets to ensure that the split is precise - so if you set it to 1 you can make sure you cut the edge in half.

How do you do the same thing using the split edge ring tool. so for example, if you want to make a loop, but ensure the split is exactly half of the edge, what would you do?

Am I making sense?
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2007, 05:10 PM   #2
starjsjswars
Subscriber
 
starjsjswars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 1,052
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yea i hear what your saying but i dont think you can do that.
__________________
A great mod for Jedi academy www.moviebattles.com

Computer Rig-

64-bit vista
23.5 inch LCD + a 19 inch
Q6600 intell qaud
4 gigs of ddr2 ram
8800GTS 512 video card @700mhz
starjsjswars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2007, 05:26 PM   #3
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

yeah it seems wierd - I would have thought it would be an obvious setting.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2007, 03:40 PM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

When the Split Type is set to Relative, the preview locator is positioned based on a percentage distance along the edge (25%, 50% and so on)depending where you first click.
Of course this percentage is based on the shortest edge in your chosen loop.

There is no way at present as far as I know to set exactly 50% and have it be right on all faces of the loop.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2007, 07:09 PM   #5
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

got you. thanks jsprogg.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.