SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / problem about my image plane
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2007, 09:26 PM   #1
bob47
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy problem about my image plane

hi i have a problem regarding my image plane the problem is that the image gets wierd in persp view (see pic) i have tryed with other pics but the result is the same can anyone help on how to get the image look right in persp?

the secund problem i have is that the tut i use says that if i put the pic back -2.0 in center z value the grid would reapier so i can draw curves on it. bt it dosent (see pic) if anyone ccould help me with these problems i would be greatfull

cheers

bob47
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	imageplane.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	60.0 KB
ID:	33961  
bob47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 08:03 AM   #2
Scarabrae
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I cant see all of your image plane, if you could re capture and post?
Scarabrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 08:50 AM   #3
bob47
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is what happens when i do what that guy in the free tut about basic human form says. the complete same problem i use maya 7 by the way
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	freesmguy.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	33974  
bob47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 08:57 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Ok I think what you need to do is select the plane and hit control + A to open the attribute editor , then select the material (ie Lambert 2) and go down to hardware texuring and change the texture resolution from default to highest and that should cure it.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 09:03 AM   #5
bob47
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is what happens when i do what that guy in the free tut about basic human form says. the complete same problem i use maya 7 by the way
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	freesmguy.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	33975  
bob47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 09:04 AM   #6
bob47
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

what if i havent used a plane and just emportet the image can you do the same thing?
bob47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 09:07 AM   #7
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

you must have a plane to put the image into I can see it in your screen capture above.
If you create a texture in the hypergraph and have not assigned it to anything, yes you can but until you assign it to an object you won't know if it displays correctly.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 09:17 AM   #8
bob47
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

okay couse in this book i have it just says that i have to import the pic in front view and that will work
and thanks for the help
bob47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 09:23 AM   #9
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Bob are you still having problems ?
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 09:27 AM   #10
bob47
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if i do what the book ways yes if i do what you say then no so thanks so is it allways best to creat a poly plane and load the image in there?
bob47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 09:31 AM   #11
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

you can import an image to an image plane in the camera but I personally find this more awkward in my workflow, so i just create a plane and assign an image to it and put it on it's own layer.This allows easier freedom to move it around hide it ect.
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 09:34 AM   #12
bob47
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

okay and thanks for the help it really helped me!:attn :attn:
bob47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 04:07 PM   #13
bob47
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i have one more questian
is there anyway that i can put the sulution jsprogg gave me as the standart setting?
bob47 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 06:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 09:30 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 01:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 11:32 AM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.