Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-05-2007, 09:17 PM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Exclamation progress messages?

Hey, what happened to the progress messages in Maya 8.5? It used to be in Maya 7 that you could set MR to print out progress messages so you could see the status of your render or debug it if it's crashing. I don't see that option in the render settings anymore. Did Autodesk get rid of it? Are they trying to dumb down Maya to make it like Max? Does anyone know how to access this crucial function?

Thanks.
-dann
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 01:33 AM   #2
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

Hi Dann,
I hope this answers your question. If you're wanting to view the progress of rendering frames, then you can open the script editor. Windows/General Editors/Script Editor. There's also probably a shortcut button at the very bottom right hand corner of the screen (lower and to the right of the key). This will show you the progress. Note: sometimes it can take a couple of minutes before the progress information begins to display.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 02:03 AM   #3
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Perfecto, it used to giv progress messages down there, but doesn't anymore. I just checked it again. I hate it when software companies take away such important features like this!
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 02:13 AM   #4
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

I have 8.5 Unlimited and it works fine on my machine (so far). I havn't gotten into animation yet, except for the bouncing ball tutorial that was in my F1 files. Maybe it has something to do with whatever settings you have since what you're doing is most likely more advanced than that bouncing ball tut.

If you want to give me some settings to try, I'll see if it works on my machine.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.