SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / polygons to subdiv
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2007, 09:01 AM   #1
acxacx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default polygons to subdiv

hi everyone, im just haiving a big problem that might be small to fix.

Im trying to convert my polygon torus to a polygon to subdiv but everytime i do so it still has sharp edges and not curved.

Im currently using Maya 8.5 could someone please help me. thanks
acxacx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 09:12 AM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

It looks like it has converted and is showing its lowest setting. Press 3 on the keyborad and that will smooth it out.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 09:28 AM   #3
acxacx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

that worked Thanks alot.
acxacx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 09:09 AM   #4
acxacx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

now im haing problems converting subdiv to polygons, everytime i try doing this it comes up with //Error: Select a subdivision surface which you want to tessellate. i select it and it wont work
acxacx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 10:06 AM   #5
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Chk to ensure its a Sub_D Object your coverting and make sure you are not doing it in poly mode. right click and choose standard, then convert.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting angolare and round polygons together? Red_Roxxor Modeling 19 04-02-2011 02:50 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.