SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2007, 02:24 PM   #1
kinddoggofwar
Registered User
 
kinddoggofwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maxwell Renderer

I just downloaded the demo version of Maxwell Renderer, but I cant figure out how to load up my scene as to render it? Help would be great.
__________________
Yay, not a freshman anymore!
kinddoggofwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 05:38 PM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Sorry but I've never seen maxwell in action. You might want to check out their website and see if they have any tutorials there that might help you.

alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 06:01 PM   #3
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

NextLimit do provide free tutorials from their site that give an overview of Maxwell. Personally, I say stick with MR (Mental Ray). Its faster and can produce the same results, with a little more tweaking. MR is an industry standard and therefore if you are going forward to look at a career in 3D, then practice MR (esp in the VFX industry).

Alan, I believe one of Framestores main Renderers is MR?
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 06:03 PM   #4
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

it's used in our TV and longform departments. Not really for film though. We have prman for that if you wan to work in industry I would learn a renderman compliant renderer e.g. Air

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 11:07 PM   #5
njon
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey Alan!
I read on the MR site a big list of hollywood movies.
On the PixarRM site I read nearly the same list.

I got 2 queries:
1.So, who decides which renderer for which shot of the same movie?
2.Which are the renderers compatible with prman apart from air?
3.How do I get started learning Prman?

Thanks.
njon is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.