SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2007, 08:53 PM   #1
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default HDRI

Well i follow
-> http://en.9jcg.com/comm_pages/blog_content-art-10.htm
this tut but really i don't get all the point of how HDRI work and what exactly it is .. can someone explain in a few words but to be understandable ... i see that my ball reflected the image but as u see in my Render image i don't get the effect which the man in tut get ... and im asking my self why ... i follow every step of the tutorial and i can't find what mistake i made .. maybe it's the point of not mentioning about how must i set my Mental reay settings ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rend1.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	23.3 KB
ID:	35227  
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 09:28 PM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: HDRI

Quote:
Originally posted by ColdWave
i see that my ball reflected the image but as u see in my Render image i don't get the effect which the man in tut get
I have no idea what youŐre talking about. Yours looks just like his. Care to explain?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 09:33 PM   #3
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Well as i learn from HDRI tut -> is reflection from HDR pic when i set it to my half sphere .. and it reflected to my ball ... ? And what was the point ... Like i see in this forum with HDRI are made brilliant things like 50 % realsitic things I really looking for that effect like "Keys" in W.I.P . I think there is used again HDRI ...
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 10:01 PM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You got me pretty lost now. The only thing I could suggest is to ask Minstrel what his render settings were.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 10:09 PM   #5
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Simple : What is the function of HDRI basicly
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 10:15 PM   #6
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Render out that image without the HDRI, and then compare them, and then you will find out the difference.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 10:50 PM   #7
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

you don't have shadows enabled... are you even in mental ray???

once you are in mental ray, if you're in Maya version is 6.5 or above, there is actually a button to set up the dome.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com

Last edited by Joopson : 04-07-2007 at 10:52 PM.
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 11:59 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

HDR images are used to ight the scene, I.e they give off light that then interacts with your objectsgiving it the look of it being in the environment.

What I think your not doing is swithcing on final gather
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 03:02 AM   #9
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

i Turn FG on and here is the result :headbang: :headbang: :headbang: :headbang: I don't add any light and i disable the defult light ... wtf ...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dsadff.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	27.1 KB
ID:	35233  
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 03:03 AM   #10
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Here are my settings
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 03:04 AM   #11
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

0
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fdsfdsfdsfdsfds.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	48.4 KB
ID:	35235  
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 05:26 AM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You need to turn down the colour gain on the HDR image (look in the place 2d file node.

Its not as easy and just applying a HDR and bingo its going to work, you need to play with the settings, to fine tune it.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 09:00 AM   #13
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

first of all, your using 8.5,

just go down to the environment tab (in the rendersettings at the bottom) and enter in the HDR image, and get rid of the half-dome you created.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 04:03 PM   #14
ColdWave
Registered User
 
ColdWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bulgaria, Vidin
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Default

I'm using maya 8.0
__________________
Art Director
www.sevenbullsgames.com
ColdWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 11:33 PM   #15
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

my mistake, haha, either way there is a button to make it for you.

in the render settings, its in the image based lighting section in the render settings window.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.