SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Cut tool -- other options?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2007, 09:46 AM   #1
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cut tool -- other options?

Is there any way to force the cut tool to, instead of using arbitrary hand-drawn lines or cartesian planes... use actual geometry -- a single face or possibly a full discrete mesh?

Think booleans only without using the whole object -- just a couple of faces... and instead of merging the object -- just make a cut outline on one of them.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 12:19 PM   #2
Eelco
Registered User
 
Eelco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In my dreams
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Not really sure what u mean. The cut tool just does those 2 things. For working on partial, u could mesh>extract the faces and work on them before you merge them back into the model.
Eelco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 12:08 AM   #3
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Basically I want to create (an) edge(s) on a mesh at its intersection with another mesh.

Last edited by Phopojijo : 08-07-2007 at 12:11 AM.
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 04:08 AM   #4
Eelco
Registered User
 
Eelco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In my dreams
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

That's tricky. Maybe duplicate the objects a couple of times, and play around with the intersection boolean and a difference boolean operations until u got all parts u need to make the whole again.

With nurbs u could've duplicated a curve from one object and projected it onto another.

U'd think Maya would have a function that cuts at the intersection of 2 polygon-objects without losing parts like in boolean. I came across this myself a couple of times. I think 3DS Max has this and so Discreet will surely implement this eventually in Maya too.
Eelco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 04:32 AM   #5
Phopojijo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Its not Discreet -- its Alias still... they just give their profits to Autodesk.

Which is odd because most business ventures involve the employees going to work finding out their office's locks are changed and someone's drinking from their coffee mug o.o
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 07:07 AM   #6
Eelco
Registered User
 
Eelco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In my dreams
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

if that makes u sleep better at night ....
Eelco is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.