SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Normal maps

Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge Please post in this section ONLY if your question doesn't fit in anywhere else on the forum, or if you're not sure which section it's relevant to. We also have Free streaming trial available.

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
24-07-2007, 06:09 AM   #1
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Normal maps
can anybody tell me how to apply a normal map
i have no idea and f1 doesnt spread much light on it
i have searched these forums but there is no real answer.

thx
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
  Reply with quote
24-07-2007, 06:48 AM   #2
Weyu
Registered User
 
Weyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 482
A intresting question, I tought that you could apply it by just dragging the file to the shader. Give him a answer so I can learn dammit'!
  Reply with quote
24-07-2007, 11:25 AM   #3
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
weyu - no if u drag andf drop u have to chose and normal map is not there

my map is as a tiff file

i tried surface sampler node thing but it just turn black

i know people on here know as i have seen them used before and this is my first attempt at this

thx
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
  Reply with quote
24-07-2007, 12:07 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Heres a tester for ya to make a normal map.

Make a model, duplicate it smooth it (has to be UV'd), then go to the transfer maps in the lighting and shading menu, and then select a normal map for the low poly form the high poly apply it then look in the hyper shade for the connections.

Should get ya going
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
  Reply with quote
24-07-2007, 12:28 PM   #5
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
genius gster123

i will try that
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
  Reply with quote
24-07-2007, 01:59 PM   #6
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
if its a tangent space normal map, apply it as a bump map, and change from "bump map" to "tangent space" and it should show up. that might only be in 8 and up though, idk
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
  Reply with quote
24-07-2007, 02:11 PM   #7
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
I came across this site, didn't look too deep into it, maybe it's what you're looking for. http://www.drone.org/tutorials/normal_maps.html
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with displacement and normal maps mickhah Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 23-12-2013 12:36 PM
Fun with normal maps (not) Rikard86 Maya Materials & Textures 11 06-10-2011 06:58 AM
blending 2 normal maps to Sil-Valeor Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 0 26-12-2008 01:38 AM
Normal Map mystery Velusion Maya Materials & Textures 4 14-09-2006 07:50 PM
Maya 6 Normal Maps? swankymonkey Lighting & Rendering 7 27-11-2004 07:29 PM