SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2007, 03:00 PM   #1
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Rotation issues

Hi,

I'm rotating a polygon plane. I have the rotation axis set to world. I'm clicking exactly on either the red, green or blue (xyz) axis handle to rotate the plane.

But, when I watch the channel box, all of the axis are changing. The rotation looks correct in the viewport - but why is it doing this? Surely the rotations should take place independently of each other?

cheers,

gubar.
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 03:04 PM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can you post a pic?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 03:06 PM   #3
Weyu
Registered User
 
Weyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Default

That is really weird, it should work correct as long as you dont have a expression going on there.
Weyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 03:29 PM   #4
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi,

ok, here are two images. The rotation is set to world. All rotations are at 10. Then, I click on the y rotation handle to select it, rotate, and as you can see all the channels are affected.

If I select the channel in the channel box and drag the value, this doesn't happen. When it highlights it this way, it actually looks as if it is selecting a hanldle that is slightly of the axis of those you can see - does doing it this way defauls to local, or gimbal or something?

thanks,

gubar.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	forum.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	101.0 KB
ID:	35714  
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 05:04 PM   #5
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Try setting the values to 0 and go to Edit> Freeze Transformations, and see if it works that way. You might want to try a center pivot too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 05:10 PM   #6
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jr.Who
Try setting the values to 0 and go to Edit> Freeze Transformations, and see if it works that way. You might want to try a center pivot too.

Hi there,

the object in the example was actually just created brand new, so no transformation or pivot issues there.

Haven't had maya open for a day or two though, I'll look again after the weekend.

thanks,

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 07:53 AM   #7
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Yeah that always happens, just freeze transformation
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.