SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / SimplyMaya Tutorials / Simply Maya Tutorials / Problem with the pirate ship
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-08-2007, 02:36 AM   #1
Rozik
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with the pirate ship

Hello there,

I bought the pirate ship tutorial and so far it works great:-)

But now on part 6 i ran into a problem when i try to extrude the faces of the ship hull.

In the tutorial all the faces are selected and then they are extruded 3 times. After that the planks are moved together and its being checked by turning into subdivisions if everything look good.

When i Extrude faces the faces are pushed in three times and on the outside there is no face left at all cause the only face thats there is where the last extrude stoped.

After this i cant turn the planks into subs anymore.

Would be coool if anyone had a hint for me:-)
Rozik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2007, 04:39 AM   #2
Rozik
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok i at least found out why i have a problem:-)

When i extrude the faces there are holes left at the back of the model.

But in the tutorial these holes are not created when extruding faces.

I read up the maya help about extruding and watched the two tutorials from here but i cant figure out how dave did this:-)
Rozik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2007, 05:45 AM   #3
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

it would be helpfull to show a picture of your hull of the ship and the one the guy from the tutorial made, so people who don't have the dvd, but have the knowledge about the technique you're using, can help you too.
I don't know if the tutorial says you should do this but otherwise use the append to polygon tool to fill up the hole

Good luck
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2007, 10:31 AM   #4
Rozik
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Never mind:-) I found the Solution in the Poly Tool Options.
Rozik is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.