Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-09-2007, 11:51 PM   #1
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default EASIER TEXTURING Q.

Let me post a more simpler question

Does anyone know how to texture in maya 8.5???

thanx

__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 02:34 AM   #2
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

rtm
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 03:34 AM   #3
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

@mr pix.,
Can you be more specific? Do you mean a UV map…?

@vladimirjp,
What?!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 05:04 AM   #4
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

i'm gonna take a guess and say that rtm means read the manual...
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:43 AM   #5
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok, heres the deal.

I know how to texture, but heres my problem


1) i select the cube i wish to texture

2) i do one of 2 ways i) automatic mapping...or
ii) select faces and planar map each face

3) open up UV texture editor to move and scale etc


Number 3 is my problem. When i attempt to open up the UV texture editor, it comes up with an error saying

'// Error: Object not found: polyTexturePlacementPanel1'

In maya 7, and 6, this never happened. This always used to open up the UV texture editor no prblm. Now the UV texture editor opens up but blank along with that error

??? what the hell am i doing wrong guys??? lol3) open up UV texture editor to move and scale etc
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 01:34 PM   #6
mr pix.
Subscriber
 
mr pix.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok ive solved it,

i forgot to rename every plank!

schoolboy error!
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
those who succeed are only the failures that never gave up.

http://www.vimeo.com/7080130
mr pix. is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.