SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Sub-d: is poly proxy age moveable?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2007, 08:02 PM   #1
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default Sub-d: is poly proxy cage moveable?

Maybe somebody can clear this up for me. When working with sub-ds and switching to proxy from standard mode, is it possible to move the cage next to the smoothed object and shade it (similar to what you can do with the regular polygon smooth proxy feature)?

I usually use smooth proxy when poly-modeling, keeping the proxy on a separate layer so i can model the shaded, low-res cage and see the details on the smoothed copy. It's easier on the eyes and less confusing when pulling verts. I was just curious if the "proxy" mode on a sub-d object allows the cage to be moved/shaded also or if it's stuck surrounding the sub-d object.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:27 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

I don't think it can be done Nitro, I usually do it the other way around by starting with a polygon and going to Proxy to create a subdiv proxy, both are shaded and you can move them apart and work on the poly mesh and still view the subd mesh.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:34 PM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Nitro

I just had a look at this and its an odd one, I created a subd and displayed the cage, then in the hypergraph, 'graphed them' then disconnected the history node from the sub and the cage moved the cage in component mode then reconnected them again in the connection editor. Out mesh to in mesh, and out sub to create but after I did this one jumped to the other.

But theres a procedural method you could use. create a subdsphere again, scale the new version up and move it to one side. Apply a transparent material to the bigger sphere. Open the connection editor up. then select the larger sphere then hit the down arrow key to select its shape node. then hit reload left in the Connection Editor. then do the same for the smaller sphere but reload right. then from left to right in the conection editor select World Subd and then select Create. This should join them up. Also use wire frame on shaded to see the transparent sphere. You can then apply poly proxy to the trans object and edit it and it will affect the small subd sphere

Sounds like complete ball ache but it works!

cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:38 PM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Jay thats insane ..lol
I suppose you could create a script for the task and then in future it would be easy
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:47 PM   #5
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

That IS pretty nutty. Methinks I'll stick with the poly/smooth proxy method and convert to Sub-d in the end. Thanks.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:47 PM   #6
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

LOL yeah writing it was. But the task takes like 3 seconds.

this is easy stuff

Might be worth posing the question over at CGsociety forums, theres always somebody over there that knows something


Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:57 PM   #7
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthre...64#post4641564

We'll see how it pans out.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:58 PM   #8
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Nice one, I'll be interested in this one...

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.