SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Sound conflict in Maya 8.5
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-09-2007, 02:46 PM   #1
Lebel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Sound conflict in Maya 8.5

Hi,

( sorry for my grammar, my english is not perfect )

hope someone could help me. I know other people that have the same problem, and they don't have the same specs.

I've got a very simple animation scene. I imported a .wav sound ( PCM) in my timeline. When I've played it the first time, all went well, the animation was smooth and the sound worked.

But for the second play, or at the third ( it seems random)..., or if I point a specific frame in the timeline, it seems that i have a sound conflict with a graphic component or something when i tried to play the sequence. The sound worked great again, but the animation jerked.

If i turn the sound off, all goes well as expected.

Is this can be only a driver problem? Or the Maya version?
Help me please, it's very annoying and it's very hard to work like this, i've got a lot of lipsynch to do.

L.



Specs: OS Windows XP
Soundblaster Soundcard
NVidia Quadro FX 1500 video card

**

Or does anyone know if the
Autodesk Maya 8.5 Service Pack 1
Published date: 2007-06-11
ID: DL9627807

could solve the problem?
__________________
Lebel

Last edited by Lebel : 13-09-2007 at 03:34 PM.
Lebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2007, 05:59 AM   #2
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you skip to a specific time in a large audio file, the computer has to look for that point by reading from the start of the file till it gets to it. Since you mention its a wave file and those can be many megabytes in size, it slows the computer for a while resulting in jerky graphics.

You could try compressing that wave file with a better codec or by using a lower qaulity version of it so its smaller in size, since you will add the sound in post production anyways.

Hope this helps.
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2007, 12:59 PM   #3
Lebel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Not that!

Thanks you so much Architect, but I don't think it's the problem.

My sound isnt' a high quality one...
( less than one MEG!!)
__________________
Lebel
Lebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2007, 03:45 AM   #4
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Other than a large file, I don't know what else could cause this. I've read a long time ago that there was a 'bug' like this in Maya 6.5 and Win XP, but since I use 6.5 and XP and so far have had no problems with the sound or anything, except for when I had a very large file.
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2007, 09:25 AM   #5
Lebel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I've found it!

Oh man... it was a BIOS option...

The hyperthreading option has to be off.
__________________
Lebel
Lebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2007, 09:30 AM   #6
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hyperthreading???

Thats a bit strange for it to be causing this, since it was supposed to increase performance...
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2007, 09:36 AM   #7
Lebel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Yep yep

I know...

that's strange.
I have to sacrifice a better performance to resolve my problem.

I'll contact Autodesk soon and maybe they'll fix it with a new patch.
__________________
Lebel
Lebel is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.