SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Proxy won't render when adjusted - annoying problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-09-2007, 09:49 PM   #1
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Proxy won't render when adjusted - annoying problem

Hi all,

say I create a proxy. It will render fine at first - but as soon as I adjust my original (even one vertice), when I render I get an error along the lines of "maya.tmr, surface 55 has no faces will not be rendered".

It clearly has faces - I can still see it in my scene view. It's only just started doing this. I've even reinstalled maya, same problem.

Anyone know the cause / a fix?

thanks,

gubar.
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 10:14 PM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

did you delete any faces on the original mesh ?
Try deleteing the proxy and creating a new one from the low poly mesh, this might solve your problem.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2007, 11:52 PM   #3
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi jsprogg,

no, like I said if I even move just one vertice, the proxy won't render - so any adjustment at all screws it up. I can delete the proxy and create a new one, but having to do this every time I make any adjustment isn't really practical. I should just be able to render, adjust, render and so forth.

No one else came across this? I googled it and it has been mentioned elsewhere, but the suggestions I seen (reinstall, change from mentalray to maya software and back) have not worked.

cheers,

gubar.
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2007, 03:01 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

I was not suggesting that you create a new one after every component move..lol
To be honest I have never come across this problem, can you go into a little more detail as to exactly whats happening... i.e. does the display show the changes on the proxy ? is it just that when you try to render the proxy mesh looks screwed ect.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2007, 02:20 PM   #5
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi,

sorry for the delay in replying, just back from holiday.

Anyway, what happens is this. I create a new proxy, and render - and the proxy renders as expected. I then adjust my original mesh and the proxy updates. But then when I render, the proxy won't render. I delete the proxy, create a new one and it renders. Then, when I adjust, it won't render. My original mesh will render, but where the proxy is just remains an empty space. It is fine in scene view. It doesn't matter how minot the adjustment is - moving one vertice a fraction causes this error.

This is the error that appears:

// Error: (Mayatomr.Geometry) : Torso1Shape: mesh has no faces, ignored

It just started to happen, it had been fine before.

cheers,

gubar.

Last edited by gubar : 25-09-2007 at 02:27 PM.
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM
Extremely annoying delay on input boxes in firefox David Members Lounge 0 01-12-2010 05:57 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.