SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / 8.0 & 8.5 compatible?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-09-2007, 02:43 AM   #1
skyjay
Registered User
 
skyjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 8.0 & 8.5 compatible?

Hi,

I have this maya file which I've worked in 8.5 And I tried to open them in another computer which has 8.0

And I get the error.
Here's what it says in the script editor.

' pv_performAction "C:/Documents and Settings/JASON KWON/My Documents/maya/projects/Interior/scenes/interiorProject.mb" "Best Guess";
file -f -options "v=0;p=17" -typ "mayaBinary" -o "C:/Documents and Settings/JASON KWON/My Documents/maya/projects/Interior/scenes/interiorProject.mb";addRecentFile("C:/Documents and Settings/JASON KWON/My Documents/maya/projects/Interior/scenes/interiorProject.mb", "mayaBinary");
// Error: line 0: Unknown Maya file version: 8.5. //
// Result: File read in 0 seconds. //
// Warning: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: glass //
// Warning: swatches file depend node not found, icon discarded: glass1 //
// Warning: Errors have occurred while reading this scene that may result in data loss.
Please check the Script Editor for details. //
// Error: Error reading file. //
// Error: //'

Any Ideas?


Thanks.
__________________
:attn:
skyjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 02:58 AM   #2
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hi,

A scene saved in Maya 8.5 will not open in an earlier incarnation of Maya unless it has been saved as an .ma file and you have adjusted the references to Maya 8.5 in that file, using a text editor, to reference the version that you are using.

That is providing you haven't been using features that were new in Maya 8.5 (N-cloth etc.).

Mat.
__________________
Click here to visit my site
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 02:59 AM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Try opening the .ma/.mb in wordpad or notepad and in the top few lines it will mention 8.5, change this to 8.0, hopefully this will help you out. I've had to change this a few times before to get files working through different versions of maya.

Hope this helps.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 03:58 AM   #4
skyjay
Registered User
 
skyjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Changing the file to ma. file did not work.

Or changing version to 8.0 in notepad did not work either..

I've spent almost a month...working on this project and..I need to go back to 8.0

Pleas Help~~!!!
__________________
:attn:
skyjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 04:08 AM   #5
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hello,

If you mail the .ma file to me I'll be happy to have a go at changing it for you.

Mat.
__________________
Click here to visit my site
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 05:20 AM   #6
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,427
Thanks: 63
Thanked 160 Times in 153 Posts
Default

Failing that you could export the objects out as obj`s - a pain in the ass but it works. They say they sorted that out from now on (8.5 upwards) so u should be able to open maya 2008 in 8.5 - your just unlucky effough to be one version behind
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 05:54 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

can you?

Ive uninstalled 8.5 but when I started it up and loaded a file form 8.5 into 2008 it came up with the warning saying that its a file from a previous version of maya blah blah....
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 05:55 AM   #8
skyjay
Registered User
 
skyjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Happymat,

Can you send me your email address so I can attach the file?
It doesn't let me send attachment here.

Thanks
I really arppreciate this.
__________________
:attn:
skyjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 06:04 AM   #9
happymat27
Subscriber
 
happymat27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

No probs,

I've posted my e-mail to your PM.

Mat.
__________________
Click here to visit my site
happymat27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 07:20 AM   #10
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,427
Thanks: 63
Thanked 160 Times in 153 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gster123
can you?

Ive uninstalled 8.5 but when I started it up and loaded a file form 8.5 into 2008 it came up with the warning saying that its a file from a previous version of maya blah blah....
Took me awhile but I found were it said so. Its was under the help files under > whats new > general.

Never tired it though
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	saveme.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	36321  
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 10:17 AM   #11
oldhippie_tom
Subscriber
 
oldhippie_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Palm Springs, Ca
Posts: 459
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I had been working on the Mech Warrior in Maya 2008 and my file was saved as a .mb. I tried to open it in 8.5 and clicked on options and indeed it did say Ignore Version. I checked it and 8.5 opened the 2008 .b without any errors. appears it works, at least for that file.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	options.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	115.5 KB
ID:	36323  
__________________
Challenge me and I will try. Because If I should fail, failure also has a prize (Knowledge).
oldhippie_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 05:28 PM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Cheers Tweety, be useful at uni.

I like the way it says maya 9!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2007, 07:14 PM   #13
tweetytunes
Ravage3d - 10 years and still going
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,427
Thanks: 63
Thanked 160 Times in 153 Posts
Default

there was even some promo stuff for maya 2008 as maya 9 at siggraph - so I think it was a last minute change
__________________
All my images are in HD - Plz right click and view image.

3D Molder at AO.com.

X2 ,,
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.