SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-09-2007, 02:33 PM   #1
ZioRiP
Registered User
 
ZioRiP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default vertex on nurbs

Hi all,

I'm following a tutorial which shows how to revolve a line and reshape it after revolving.

Unfortunately the tute doesn't explain how to make appears vertex.
I select the curve and right click on it choosing 'control vertex', but the only vertex I can see are purple and are only 3/13 (the first, the last and something I still need to identify).
I've already tried to seehow to make the other vertex appear by the display menu/nurbs, specially the CV, but nothing really changes... is there anybody who can, please help me?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers

p.s. I work on Maya 8.5 PLE
ZioRiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2007, 06:57 PM   #2
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

It all depends on the line you created and how many points you clicked in creating it. Each point on the curve should give you a CV.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 03:53 AM   #3
ZioRiP
Registered User
 
ZioRiP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

there are 13 points...
ZioRiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 02:47 PM   #4
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Not sure, then. You should only have to right-click on the curve and select "control vertex" in the marking menu for all the CVs to show.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 02:49 PM   #5
ZioRiP
Registered User
 
ZioRiP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Unfortunately I've already done those things....
I don't know if I have to set something strange on preferences... I use the default settings... I just can't solve the problem. :headbang:
ZioRiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 03:01 PM   #6
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

If PLE installs a prefs file, try to delete it and see if the problem goes away.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 03:03 PM   #7
ZioRiP
Registered User
 
ZioRiP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

unfortunately I don't have a clue on where that file might be... I use a mac since one month and I don't still know how it works
ZioRiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 03:09 PM   #8
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

On a mac, it should be in your home folder under /Users/Shared/Autodek/maya/8.5 or something to that effect. I believe userPrefs.mel is the file name.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2007, 04:41 PM   #9
ZioRiP
Registered User
 
ZioRiP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

nothing to do... :headbang:

But I've noticed that sometimes also the arrows or the move instrument don't appear in some views (recently in front view) may it be a bug?
I switched to mac just not to have so many bugs, but it really seems I'm encountering all of them in maya... I've also problems with my wacom sometimes...
Do you think it can be a bug?
ZioRiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 11:56 AM   #10
ZioRiP
Registered User
 
ZioRiP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey, I really can't use this program....
It looks impossible, I just can't see what is shown in the tutorials... what's wrong?
I've enabled the CVs in the display menu, here are thre screenshoots of the before, durign and after.... please, help me :headbang:

[IMG]prizio.altervista.org/pics/1.jpg[/IMG]
[IMG]prizio.altervista.org/pics/2.jpg[/IMG]
[IMG]prizio.altervista.org/pics/3.jpg[/IMG]

mmm... it seems imageshack dowsn't work, the attach on the forum doesnt work...

here are the direct links to the three images...
Please guys help me, I just can't do nothing without that funcion...

before
during
after

Last edited by ZioRiP : 28-09-2007 at 11:59 AM.
ZioRiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 01:14 PM   #11
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

The images you posted don't work. Anyway, could be a graphic card issue if things aren't showing as they should be and it's inconsistent. I know Maya's never liked ATI cards if that's what you're running.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 01:18 PM   #12
ZioRiP
Registered User
 
ZioRiP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

have you tried to click on the links at the bottom?
I don't think the problem is releated to the graphic card cause on macintosh you can't change it... and this is maya for macintosh... I'm getting really crazy

the purple squares, that are supposed to be the vertex, are just there for nothing... I can't neither move nor select them...

Last edited by ZioRiP : 28-09-2007 at 01:24 PM.
ZioRiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 02:02 PM   #13
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I mentioned already, none of the links work. They all point to http://images.altervista.org/images/void.gif when I click on them.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 02:06 PM   #14
ZioRiP
Registered User
 
ZioRiP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it's very strange.... I can open them perfectly, now I copy and paste the links from the previous post in here:
http://prizio.altervista.org/pics/1.jpg
http://prizio.altervista.org/pics/2.jpg
http://prizio.altervista.org/pics/3.jpg
ZioRiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2007, 02:14 PM   #15
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Same problem with the links.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.