SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Split tool doesn't split
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2007, 02:03 PM   #1
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Angry Split tool doesn't split

I have a problem with 'split polygon tool':
when attempting to split multiple(more then one, see attached image) faces at once it does nothing.

In the project I attempt to module a polygon pillar, and I tried to create a square on it's top using the 'split polygon tool'(see attached image).

The tool's settings:
devisions: 1
smoothing angle:0
split only from edges: Y
use snapping points along edge: Y
number of points:1
snapping tolerance:100

I'm using Maya 8.5
CPU:Intel Pentium 4 2.60GHz
RAM:512MB
Graphics card:ATI Radeon 9550

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance,
Benny
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	split poligon problem.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	137.5 KB
ID:	36575  
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 02:40 PM   #2
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

make sure you make click to add a point at every line, otherwise it cant work.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 03:00 PM   #3
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Joopson’s correct. They fixed it in 2008, but for 8.5 you can use the cut faces tool.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 06:01 PM   #4
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joopson
make sure you make click to add a point at every line...
What do you mean by that?
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 06:37 PM   #5
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-1.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	58.5 KB
ID:	36576  
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 07:04 PM   #6
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Joopson
like this:
Do you mean I should select each face's edges individually?
If so, can I make the line align with the axis? because I need the line to be straight (see attached image above).
Or is there another way I can make it stretch straightly?
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 07:07 PM   #7
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

yes.
and to make the line straight,

i just go into the top view and make it so the line isn't crooked.
-Andy
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 07:12 PM   #8
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks for the advice.
But...
Quote:
Originally posted by Joopson

...and to make the line straight,

i just go into the top view and make it so the line isn't crooked.
-Andy
That seems like a primitive and inaccurate method.
Does someone has a better idea to making the line straight?
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 07:56 PM   #9
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

no, there is no other way.

but its not inaccurate, because when the line is crooked, it is made out of several straight lines, when its straight, it looks like just 1 straight line.


that may not make sense, but try it.


you will see what i mean
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 08:03 PM   #10
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

here is a comparison picture.

the first vertical line (on the top) is crooked. the bottom one is straight.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	f.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	36579  
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 11:31 PM   #11
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you want it accurate, you can do an edge loop split.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 03:52 AM   #12
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I guess I don't have much choice, Thanks anyway.
Benny
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 04:18 AM   #13
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I didn't notice the last post...
Quote:
Originally posted by Jr.Who
...you can do an edge loop split.
Whats an edge loop split?
EDIT: Do you mean 'Insert Edge Loop' tool? Because I didn't find a way to make it stretch a straight line...

Last edited by BennyK : 09-10-2007 at 04:52 AM.
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 07:26 AM   #14
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyK
I didn't notice the last post...

Whats an edge loop split?
EDIT: Do you mean 'Insert Edge Loop' tool? Because I didn't find a way to make it stretch a straight line...
Oh, LOL, now that I think about what I said, I’m wrong. You want to use the cut faces tool instead.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 10:35 AM   #15
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jr.Who
... You want to use the cut faces tool ...
It isn't very accurate too (I cant snap to a second point).
I ended up moving vertices.
Thanks anyway,
Benny
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.