SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / centering vertices?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-10-2007, 07:40 PM   #1
wirercx
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default centering vertices?

Hi there!
I just started a new project after a long break from maya.
So here is what I want to know how to do. I just cut a model in half so i can work on it and duplicate it later. But I forget how I can center all the vertices to the y axis on the grid for easy duplication.

Here is a screenshot of what it is so you can have a better idea of what I am asking:


Thanks
wirercx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2007, 08:43 PM   #2
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi,

with them selected, just move them while holding x to snap to the grid.

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2007, 08:48 PM   #3
wirercx
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh ok! Thank you so much
I was trying to use "v" instead of x

XD
wirercx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2007, 10:26 PM   #4
danotronXX
Subscriber
 
danotronXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

heres what I recommend. Select all those verts and scale them down along the x-axis. once they're all aligned, u can snap all of them to the center as a selection.
danotronXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2007, 01:15 AM   #5
wirercx
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the handy tip

now i gotta work out a three sided poly problem...
wirercx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2007, 05:01 AM   #6
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

if you turn off 'retain component spacing' in the move tool options, than they should all snap to the middle together.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.