SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / origami
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-11-2007, 10:56 PM   #1
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default origami

I thought this would not be to hard to do, but have discovered it looks like it may be a real nightmare to get what I was wanting. I hoped to take a single poly and fold it up as if it were a piece of paper to create some simple origami animals. I split the plane up so it has the lines on it where the folds need to be. My main problem is the rotation tool is not always at the angles I need it to be. Is there a way to adjust this without moving the object. I know you can adjust the move tools location by hitting the insert key but cannot find a way to adjust the actual rotation angle. Also is this the best way to go about this.

Many thanks,

Leon
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2007, 11:22 PM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

you need to go into your component mode and switch to the miscellaneous mode (i think its the question mark) can't remember as don't have maya in front of me at mo. I believe there you can change the local rotation of the object.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2007, 05:32 AM   #3
djknucklez1
Registered User
 
djknucklez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default hmmm...

I tried to do what you are working on. The best way I figured of doing it was to go into face mode. Select the face you want to manipulate. Hit the "insert" key and move the rotation axis and snap it to the line by holding the "C" key to the line or angle you want it to bend on. Then make sure you go straight to the rotate tool, if you go to the translate tool and the skip to the rotate tool the axis resets for some reason. This is the best way I found. Make sure you're in gimbal mode when you rotate it.
__________________
EA Games
djknucklez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.