SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-11-2007, 05:39 PM   #1
Macedon
Subscriber
 
Macedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Light Setup 4 model Display

Hey guys i know this sounds quite dumb but i cant set up a lighting system to show off my model nicely, ( everyone seems to post an image of a model with what seems basic lighting that shows off the model)

any suggestions?
Macedon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 05:51 PM   #2
djknucklez1
Registered User
 
djknucklez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

WHat most people use global illumination. There are scripts out there that set up your lights automatically. One famous one is called GI_Joe. As time goes by and you get better you'll be able to get into more advance stuff like HDRI and Final Gather. Look up some of this topics to educate yourself more.

You can also set up a 3 point light using spot lights. Basically it's 3 spot lights that light up your scene. Bottom, top, front or side.

I included GI JOE.
Loaded into your scripts folder. Source the file under your script editor and execute the file. Make sure you make a shelve for it for easy access.
Attached Files
File Type: zip gi_joe2.1.zip (129.9 KB, 22 views)
__________________
EA Games
djknucklez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 06:07 PM   #3
Macedon
Subscriber
 
Macedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Dj, I've been playing around with GI and FG but havnt quite got the results i needed. I'll def try the script, thanks allot
Macedon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 06:40 PM   #4
Macedon
Subscriber
 
Macedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks!! :attn:

Last edited by Macedon : 27-11-2007 at 07:31 PM.
Macedon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2007, 07:25 PM   #5
djknucklez1
Registered User
 
djknucklez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

When you ran the script there should have been a UI that popped up. Don't close this window. Keep it open after you run the script, the attributes pop up after you create the lights. This is where you adjust the brightnest for the top and bottom groups of lights.

Dont forget to click the shadows box for the shadows to show up.
__________________
EA Games
djknucklez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 11:39 AM
Dog Model Vox520 Modeling 7 10-12-2010 09:28 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.