SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Difficulties batch rendering
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2007, 08:07 AM   #1
JasonZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Difficulties batch rendering

Hi all,

I'm having some horrendous difficulties batch rendering in Maya 7.0. I'm trying to render an image sequence to convert into a movie, but I keep getting a single image, incompletely rendered. Even just starting a new project and trying to move a simple NURB sphere a short distance, I can only get Maya to output a single frame. That's just using the default settings, outputting to .tif. I'm not trying anything super fancy.

Thank you in advance for any help, I'm really at the end of my rope here.
JasonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 02:03 PM   #2
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I also had this trouble at first.
I did manage to find the animation by browsing to where maya renders the files on your hard drive, then i clicked on the first frame from the batch render and it opened as an animation.
It worked for me but i dont know why, it might work for you but dont hold me to it
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 03:20 PM   #3
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

What is the actual problem?

Do you know how to render out a movie and the file/s are being corrupted, or is it the actual setting up for rendering a sequence that you are having problems with?

If we can get some more details we can help you with your problem.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 03:43 AM   #4
JasonZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies.

I know how to set up rendering the movie, but Maya isn't exporting properly. I double-checked my process with a few tutorials, including one on this site, and I don't think I'm doing anything wrong in the render settings. I can detail my render settings if you want, though I'm pretty sure that's not where I'm running into trouble.

The problem is that when Maya should be giving me 120 rendered frames from the batch rendering, I instead get only a single frame. Sometimes that frame isn't even rendered properly (it'll render only from the arms of the character down). If I render only a single frame it renders properly, though. I'm trying to figure out why it won't render all 120 frames so I can then just dump those into AfterEffects to make a video file.

Trying to render to .avi in Maya also ends in failure; I just get an *.avi.ng file that I can't use. I'd rather just make the video file myself, anyways.

Thanks again for the help!
JasonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 02:55 AM   #5
Harris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Try rendering using targa files. After that open fcheck in the Maya folder and import sequence and then save as a .mov or a .avi. The good thing about this is that if Maya gets mad at you and shuts down you can start rendering on the frame where it last left off.
__________________
Bill Harris
Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 05:53 AM   #6
ValtheJean
Registered User
 
ValtheJean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: California
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I also came across that problem. By default settings, do you mean that you have it save as name.ext? (Under Frame/Animation Ext). If not, try switching it to name.#.ext, the start and finish frames should be open for editing, and from there you can edit which frames you want to render.
__________________
"All the world's a stage, and all the Men and Women merely players: they have their exits, and their entrances, and one man in his time plays many parts."
-William Shakespeare
ValtheJean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 05:59 AM   #7
Harris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

valthejean is right make sure you set save name # .ext
__________________
Bill Harris
Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.