Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-12-2007, 06:56 PM   #1
DaffyDuck
Registered User
 
DaffyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Pushing Polygons around in the persp window

Hi Everybody I'm back :attn:

I just wanted to ask if it is possible to push & pull polygons around into position in the persp window rather than going into the properties and changing the scale and co-ord's. etc.

A short cut to create a prescale polygon which I can drop onto the work area and push around quickly. I find it a big drag having to resize and reposition the polygons everytime I create a new one for my scenes.

Cheers
__________________
Thanks, DaffyDuck
DaffyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2007, 04:35 AM   #2
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

Hi Daffy, hit F8 on the keyboard to switch between Object and Component mode OR you can right click on an object and choose component selections like vertices,faces or edges then simply select or drag a selection in the Persp view and push and pull all you like.
If you want to create a presized /prescalled object, when you go to the create polygon menu click on the little box next to the primitive of your choice to go to it's optionsand put your numbers in there and every primitive you create will have those values until you change it or reset it.
The tutorial movies that come with Maya would explain these basic things, Did you not watch them ?

Hope this helps a little anyway and btw F1 on the keyboard brings up the Maya help files.
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-2007, 05:09 AM   #3
DaffyDuck
Registered User
 
DaffyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by jsprogg
Hi Daffy, hit F8 on the keyboard to switch between Object and Component mode OR you can right click on an object and choose component selections like vertices,faces or edges then simply select or drag a selection in the Persp view and push and pull all you like.
If you want to create a presized /prescalled object, when you go to the create polygon menu click on the little box next to the primitive of your choice to go to it's optionsand put your numbers in there and every primitive you create will have those values until you change it or reset it.
The tutorial movies that come with Maya would explain these basic things, Did you not watch them ?

Hope this helps a little anyway and btw F1 on the keyboard brings up the Maya help files.
Thanks jsprogg :attn:

Still working my way through the tutorials.. Steep learning curve....
__________________
Thanks, DaffyDuck
DaffyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting angolare and round polygons together? Red_Roxxor Modeling 19 04-02-2011 03:50 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.