SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / How do I make the shadows smooth here(screenshot inc.)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-12-2007, 02:59 PM   #1
warren_paul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I make the shadows smooth here(screenshot inc.)

I use production quality with raytracing




The shadows have a noise like thing, where do I change the settings.

My first post btw.
warren_paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2007, 04:36 PM   #2
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

i don't have maya in front of me at the moment (and I can't see your image ), but I think you need to up your samples in your light settings. welcome to simply maya.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2007, 09:47 PM   #3
warren_paul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/5193/mytable2ns7.jpg

For those that can't show the image tags. I'm really a newbie when it comes to rendering. What causes the grainy shadow.
warren_paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2007, 09:49 PM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

your image is probabaly fine - i just couldn't see it cos i'm at work. did you play with the samples? i'm pretty sure that's it.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2007, 10:40 PM   #5
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

could be, not enough resolution on the table object

not enough resolution in the shadow samples (do you have depth map shadows also??
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2007, 10:16 AM   #6
warren_paul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got it, never mind. Just had to change settings.
warren_paul is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.