SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-01-2008, 07:36 PM   #1
chrissy19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking How to create a sky

I have always wanted to create a simply sky background when I render cities, beaches etc. Any idea of the simplest way to create a sky in Maya 6 or 8?

Thanks
chrissy19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2008, 08:03 PM   #2
Al_mullin
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, i found this way that was pretty simple.
If you create a sphere, delete the bottom half and scale it up so that it covers your scene. Apply a lambert shader and a ramp texture to it. Give the ramp 4 color divisions (I think i used dark blue, light blue, white and light blue from the top).

To get a cloud type effect you can add a fractal to the ramp colours. increase either the u or v to strech the fractal horizontally. there you go. Just play around with the settings.

This is something i did a while ago with this sky effect

Hope it helps
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	headhunter.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	38.3 KB
ID:	37957  
Al_mullin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2008, 08:05 PM   #3
jali
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 545
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

hi

the easiest way to create sky is to create a sphere, and delete the bottom have of it. now you should be left with just the top half, scale it so it covers your scene, all you have to do is just apply some sky like texture to it, and that should do it
jali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2008, 06:20 AM   #4
eyezcene
Registered User
 
eyezcene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: iligan
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how about using the visor?and import clouds?that'l be much simplier...(this only work for the clouds not for the sky)
eyezcene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2008, 02:48 PM   #5
mattbarb
Registered User
 
mattbarb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: East London, Ingerland
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Is it possible to add a Sky in a Mental Ray Render i keep getting an error.
Tiff image is being used?

Many thanks,
mattbarb is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.