SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2008, 07:30 PM   #1
sjtaylor84
Subscriber
 
sjtaylor84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question How do I render backwards?

Hi everyone,

I've got 2 machines currently rendering a shot, is it possible to have one machine render for the last frame backwards, leaving the other one to render forwards so they can meet in the middle?

Thanks in advance
Simon
__________________
www.simontayloranimation.com
sjtaylor84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 07:38 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Never tried, but maybe you can, just change the start frame to the last and the end to the first????


Might work, then again it might be too confusing for maya!
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 07:40 PM   #3
sjtaylor84
Subscriber
 
sjtaylor84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Tried that, didn't work. Maya just instantly said rendering complete.
__________________
www.simontayloranimation.com
sjtaylor84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 07:55 PM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

why not have one machine render 1-50% and the other 50%-100%? Why do you need the 2nd batch to go backwards?
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 07:58 PM   #5
sjtaylor84
Subscriber
 
sjtaylor84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

One machine is faster than the other and i'm trying to maximise my time as a deadline is looming
__________________
www.simontayloranimation.com
sjtaylor84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 08:21 PM   #6
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

you could try setting "by frame" to -1. that might work

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 08:42 PM   #7
sjtaylor84
Subscriber
 
sjtaylor84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply, sadly though that didn't work either.
__________________
www.simontayloranimation.com
sjtaylor84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 11:24 PM   #8
mirek03
Subscriber
 
mirek03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,752
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

get a slower clock??
__________________
take it easy and life will be easy
mirek03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 10:59 AM   #9
alexanderH
Subscriber
 
alexanderH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

have you tried network rendering? Then it doesn't matter what computer does what. It will allow them to share the load and get it done. No need to decide what computer does what.
__________________
Peace, love and Anarchy~~~~~~~
______________________________
Wip:
iMac
Full House Project
Arch Viz Reel

My Website is Finally Back up!

“Welcome to the Internet. Where the men are men, the women are men, and the children are FBI agents.”
alexanderH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 01:58 PM   #10
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

sure, network rendering is pretty nice and convenient, but that's after someone's set it up for you... the problems to set up a farm seem a little complicated for the poking around i did back when i had 3 comps at home and wanted to network render myself...
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 03:39 PM   #11
alexanderH
Subscriber
 
alexanderH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I've found what looks to be a pretty good render manager on highend3d.
I've not had a chance to try it but it looks like it makes network renders very easy to set up.
Maya Render Manager
__________________
Peace, love and Anarchy~~~~~~~
______________________________
Wip:
iMac
Full House Project
Arch Viz Reel

My Website is Finally Back up!

“Welcome to the Internet. Where the men are men, the women are men, and the children are FBI agents.”
alexanderH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 04:19 PM   #12
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

now all i need is those computers up and running again... <sigh>
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 10:56 PM   #13
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Spiders also pretty good too, and it can work with loads of softwares
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.