SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Maya 8 extude tool problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-03-2008, 02:01 PM   #1
3DTerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya 8 extude tool problem

When using the extrude tool in Maya 8 my manipulator will snap itself to the center of the world instead of the center of the selection when I go world space. Thus, the work flow is painfully long and tedious. Maya 7 never did this. Anybody else experience this?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	maya8extrude.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	130.1 KB
ID:	38563  
3DTerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2008, 07:22 PM   #2
3DTerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well I think I found the solution!!! I am going to try this when I get home!!

SPREAD THE NEWS!!

http://forums.cgsociety.org/archive/.../t-411794.html
3DTerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2008, 07:37 PM   #3
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

thanks for posting the solution to your problem...

there are a lot of times when people find their own solution but don't share their findings with the rest of the simplymaya community, and others with similar problems are stuck scratching their heads...

again thanks for sharing!
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2008, 07:51 PM   #4
3DTerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No Problem. I was kind of shocked that I haven't heard more complaints about this problem on other forums. I will let you know if I get it to work.
3DTerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 10:41 AM   #5
3DTerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well I tried it and it works perfectly. If you own Maya 8, try it out. It will save you so much time.
3DTerry is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.