Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 25-03-2008 , 12:55 PM
Subscriber

cartoon female

I'm working off of the Digital Tutors stylized female character. I'm using different references again to make it my own character, and changing things here and there. This is my first attempt at making a human character using the box modeling style and so far it's been going much smoother than every attempt I've made so far at using the nurbs to poly workflow. This character still has quite a bit of work obviously but this is the first screenshot I've taken of this character and figured I'd start a WIP thread.

here it is so far. I'm about to do some more modeling right now. and I am going for a slightly more detailed cartoon female than the one in the video. with a bit less of a cartoony feel... I guess it's not much of a cartoon but I don't think I want to go for hi-res realistic. If that makes any sense.

user added image

Last edited by Rhetoric Camel; 25-03-2008 at 01:04 PM.
# 2 25-03-2008 , 01:15 PM
Subscriber
quick work on the not so realistic yet not so cartoony ear

front view:
user added image

back view:
user added image

# 3 25-03-2008 , 01:48 PM
looks very good so far. i might make that front edge of the ear flat with the face - i know it's a cartoon ear - but it looks a little odd.

# 4 25-03-2008 , 02:18 PM
Subscriber
thanks for the idea, since I've never made an ear before and it's also different than the one in the tutorial I wasn't thinking. Thanks again

Starting out the body about to make a leg for her

user added image

# 5 25-03-2008 , 03:34 PM
Subscriber
alright I think these are gonna be the last updates for tonight. Have to work overtime and have to be up at 5am, so I'm cutting myself off now before I lose track of time again.

leg is attached and I fixed the ear a bit. let me know what you think, suggestions and comments are always appreciated.

ear fixed:
user added image