SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / SimplyMaya Tutorials / Simply Maya Tutorials / Transfer maps problem - Introduction to game texturing by Michael Mckinley
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2008, 10:55 PM   #1
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Question Transfer maps problem - Introduction to game texturing by Michael Mckinley

I've tried to follow the tutorial and encountered a problem:
after baking (With Normal, Diffuse and Ambient) instead of everything magically falling in place I've got the normal map as my color and it's as if It haven't applied a normal map at all...

I don't know what map should go where, and Therefore I'm unable to provide more info about them.
I have noticed though that only one file was added in the Hypershade - as though the otheres don't even exist
:headbang: .

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance,
Benny
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 12:16 AM   #2
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

have you tried rendering?

Don't know much about them, but normal maps will appear on your model in the viewport as if they are your color map.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:40 AM   #3
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

On rendering I get the same color as the presentation (the normal map) and while I can see some depth in the texture it is not affected by the position of the light.
plus i get extremely strange behavior when the light is near the object...
this is what I get after baking:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	temp.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	12.8 KB
ID:	38924  
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 02:37 AM   #4
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

the next tutorial is going to go into much more details, don't worry.

As for how to use the normal map, it shouldn't be applied to the color attribute. It'll go in the bump attribute. In the bump2d node's "Use As" setting, set it to Tangent Space Normals instead of the default Bump.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 03:34 AM   #5
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks, I'll try that out as soon as I'll have a chance...
Where does the diffuse and ambient maps go BTW?
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 03:41 AM   #6
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

In the Ambient colour and diffuse channels possibly?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 03:52 AM   #7
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Diffuse is the same as "color."

The ambient is actually used in Photoshop to enhance the diffuse map. That'll be gone over in the next tutorial, promise.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 05:10 AM   #8
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks Mt. (for both the tutorial and helping me out...)
I still don't understand why these maps haven't been applied where they belong after baking, but I got it to work!

excuse me for the lame brick wall though. I made a spectacular arch but I lost it and I was tired of all these bricks .
Anyway, it's as good as anything for the purpose of learning...
Thanks again,
Benny
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	brick wall.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	19.0 KB
ID:	38927  
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.