SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya on macintosh?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-05-2008, 02:59 PM   #1
Lucarech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya on macintosh?

Hello I am going to start learning Maya, I have a big question: I am working on a MacBookPro, is that ok or I have to install Windows on my computer?
__________________
Luca
Lucarech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2008, 03:07 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Get a mac version of maya
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2008, 03:15 PM   #3
Lucarech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have already a mac version but I cannot use a tree button mouse... the button dont work very well with the functions of zooming and the others 2. Is that only a problem of configuration of the mouse?
__________________
Luca
Lucarech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2008, 03:17 PM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lucarech
I have already a mac version but I cannot use a tree button mouse... the button dont work very well with the functions of zooming and the others 2. Is that only a problem of configuration of the mouse?
Just get a Mighty Mouse.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2008, 12:21 AM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lucarech
I have already a mac version but I cannot use a tree button mouse... the button dont work very well with the functions of zooming and the others 2. Is that only a problem of configuration of the mouse?

Installing windows wont fix your mouse if its only got one button.

The "mighty mouse" seems to have a few problems with gunge building up (read reviews on apples site) Justget a standard 3 button mouse as there a lot cheaper and will work just the same (as long as theres no compatability issues)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2008, 12:27 AM   #6
Lucarech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I already have a 3 button mouse but it does not work well. At the same time I did not search a lot for the setting of it on in Maya. Are there some mouse settings in Maya? Where exactly? thank you
__________________
Luca
Lucarech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2008, 02:33 AM   #7
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I dont think theres and settings for the mouse.

Whats actually wrong, it your mouse dodgey or is it just when your using maya that bits dont work for it??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2008, 09:11 PM   #8
Lucarech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

A friend gave me a mighty mouse for a test. I only cam zoom in and out using the scroll button... normaly I should be able to mouve around by pressing a button of the mouse and the scroll button isn't it?
__________________
Luca
Lucarech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2008, 06:30 AM   #9
theartknife
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i'm running maya on a mac and it's fine. left and right buttons work as normal and the scroll wheel zooms in and out when i scroll it and pans around if i click it.

sounds like you just need a different mouse, mine was just a cheapo plug in and play one and it's fine.
theartknife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2008, 10:34 PM   #10
Lucarech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Can somebody who is using the mighty mouse tell me what are his presets in the System preferences windows for each button?

Thanks
__________________
Luca
Lucarech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2008, 10:37 PM   #11
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lucarech
Can somebody who is using the mighty mouse tell me what are his presets in the System preferences windows for each button?

Thanks
When I'm using Maya I switch my MMB to Button 3 and when I'm not using Maya I just switch it back to Dashboard.

And I always leave the LMB to Primary Button, the RMB to Secondary Button, and the side buttons to Exposé – All Windows.
  Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.