SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Referencing Problem: Child Nodes misplaced on reloading of Parent Scene
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-05-2008, 07:12 AM   #1
shekibobo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Referencing Problem: Child Nodes misplaced on reloading of Parent Scene

I'm working on a model of a room in Maya 8.5 with many different child nodes, such as stoves, fridges, counters, etc. I have one parent scene containing the walls and floor of the room directly in the file, and various other files were placed into the scene using the "File > Create Reference" command.

Once the referenced scenes are imported, I place them within the scene where necessary. When possible, I freeze transformations of the child nodes so they will be easy to return to their location if they accidentally get moved.

Here's the problem: when I save and reload the parent scene, most (but not all) of the geometry of the child nodes are reset to the origin, where they were first loaded in. The weird part, though, is that the pivot of each of these child nodes is located correctly, exactly where I placed the models in the scene before I saved it. So every time I reload the scene, I end up having to replace everything, and it's wasting a lot of time and causing incredible frustration.

For some reason, I have three models that don't have this problem. There is a swinging door, a window, and a sliding door, none of which reset themselves when the parent scene is reloaded. As far as I know, I did nothing different when referencing these models, nor is there any major difference in the structure of the child scenes.

So I guess my question is, does anyone else have this problem? Is there a solution? Am I doing something wrong? I'm fairly new to using the reference node workflow, and I love the concept, but it's killing me on this project right now.

I've attached an image to help explain the problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	refprobimg.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	175.7 KB
ID:	39075  
shekibobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2008, 07:58 AM   #2
shekibobo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So, after some experimentation, I found out that freezing transformations on a child node inside a parent scene cause all these problems. If I don't freeze transformations, all the child nodes remain unchanged when the parent scene is reloaded.
shekibobo is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.