SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-05-2008, 02:14 PM   #1
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default speed up simulation?

Is there a way to speed up the simulation done using dynamics? no particles are used, just a ball hitting domino's but about half way through the domino's it slows right now, take about 20 minutes or so to simulate from frame 1 to frame 300. I have to keep simulating this over with every little adjustment and 20 minutes of waiting is a long time for something that seems so small.

ps, I did post this in my WiP thread in the challenge forum but still haven't gotten an answer so I figured I'd try here in the dynamics forum. Sorry for the double post.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2008, 03:03 PM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

No problem

And by the way, as I've said before to others I personally cannot help out challengers with their projects, as that would seem unfair to the other challengers
But that rule is just for me, not for everyone else

HOWEVER when a generic question is posted here, then it's fair game!! hehe..

Anyhoo, the first thing that sprang into my mind when I heard about your issue:

1. FOR ALL OF YOUR DOMINOS:
In your geometry "Rigid Body" attributes in the Performance Rollout, set your
"Stand In" setting to "Cube" and set your "Apply Force At" setting to "boundingBox" for ALL of your dominoes.

You should be able to simply select them all and change the values in the channel box for all of them at once.
otherwise, the Attribute Spreadsheet is good for this as well.

If it is set to none, and the "ApplyForceAt" is set to verticesORCV's then the solving will take FOREVER as it is taking all of the extra unneeded geometry into account for the sim.

For dominoes, and most hard-bodied impact simulations, straight-up cube or sphere "stand-in" works SUPER fast and solves just as accurately for most cases.

Try that first and let us know if it helped your playback speed any

Also, keep in mind that if your scene has a LOT of geometry collisions, things WILL take longer to sim, and you may need to cache it first.


Ok, now for your second part:
How to speed-up a dynamic simulation.

The best and easiest way is to cache your sim, then select your geometry or particles, and make them a character in the Trax Editor

Once they are in the Trax Editor, you can simply lengthen or shorten your sim, or speed it up, or slow it down as well.

Check the help on using the Trax Editor.

Good luck!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2008, 03:34 PM   #3
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

thank you very much, the bounding box sped it up a lot! Thank you very much I'll keep the trax editor part in mind for a later time if needed... thanks again.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2008, 04:58 PM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

No problem
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 01:52 AM   #5
RaginRob
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Europe (Germany)
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi Camel,

if you have to tweak only the end of the domino sequence, I'd probably save the scene to another file, let the simulation calculate up to the frame where your fine-tuning starts and then set this as initial state. You can save a lot of time and it will behave exactly like before just without having to recalculate everything.

When everything is fine, the cache is very useful to get a fast playback (or maybe a playblast).
RaginRob is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.