SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / mental ray not updating.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2008, 05:51 AM   #1
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default mental ray not updating.

hi - i'm having an issue where mental ray doesn't seem to be updating my targa textures files. when i hit reload they update in the attribute editor and on the model, but when i render, mental ray just renders the last texture.

i'm getting the error:

// Warning: (Mayatomr.Shader) : mentalrayTexture1: referenced writable texture file "C:/temp/sssMarleyTest" already exists, overwrite //
// Error: (Mayatomr.Output) : file error: C:/temp/sssMarleyTest //
// Error: (Mayatomr.Output) : file error: C:/Documents and Settings/arran/My Documents/maya/projects/marley/sourceimages/NEWHeadHandsCOLOR.tga //
// Error: (Mayatomr.Output) : file error: C:/Documents and Settings/arran/My Documents/maya/projects/marley/sourceimages/NEWHeadHandsBUMP.tga //

but the maps are all there.

help!
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 09:47 PM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

how weird, could you just get rid of the old texture, make a new texture with the right targa image and apply that to the model?

Or is this more of a question out of curiosity, as it has me stumped lol.

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 11:12 PM   #3
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Previous suggestion sounds like a possibility - delete and recreate the file node.

It's a pain, but similar happens to me when I use uv sets - I allocate them all in the uv linking window, looks fine in the viewport, but renders wrong in MR. I then have to delete the uv chooser in the hypershade, and re-link in the uv link window to create a new one.

good luck

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 01:19 PM   #4
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

hey - thank guys - sorry for late reply - i don't seem to be getting any email notifications.

yeah - it is weird - i ended up creating a new project, importing the model into there and then just moved the textures over and reassigned them. that seems to work. i don't think it's a problem with mental ray.

thanks for the suggestions.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.