SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Rendering wire frames on smoothed models
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2008, 12:50 PM   #1
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Rendering wire frames on smoothed models

Hi folks,

trying to do this at the moment. I've tried using a box ramp with two colours/no interpolation, which would be good except that it gives lines of varying thickness according to the density of the mesh (so you get very uneven lines).

The most luck I've had has been just applying a base mesh level uv map as colour, though the problem with this is that, due to the smoothing / uv seams, I've having to rejig and attatch different uv shells to there's not artefacting on the wire where seams join.

It's pretty laborious... isn't there any easier way just to render a base level wire on your smooth mesh?

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 02:52 PM   #2
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Ok, after messing around, I can get a nice wire frame render on my base mesh using the contour render feature of mental ray. It works on the smooth mesh too but obliviously renders the denser mesh... I'm hoping someone can tell me how to have the base wire, but rendered on the smoothed mesh.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:34 PM   #3
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

take a UV snapshot of your non-smoothed object, save the image, then apply the UV snapshot image as your material on your smoothed object
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 12:59 AM   #4
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi,

like I said in my first post, I've already tried this. It nearly works, but uv seams shows on the model.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 01:44 AM   #5
ExtrudedDingus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Have you seen this Gubar.. I did a google search and came across this. I haven't tried it though..

http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla...pic.php?t=4119
ExtrudedDingus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 01:52 AM   #6
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hello,

thanks for the suggestion, but tried that one last night - it renders wires just fine, but only at the current level of subdivision.

Think the only way is to just relay all my uvs so that the seams don't show at all... having a bit of a look into rendering without wire, then doing a playblast with with wireframe on, then trying to blend the two in premier, not too hopefull about that solution though.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 02:03 AM   #7
ExtrudedDingus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It sucks something like this isn't easier. You would think this would be a super basic thing that's built into Maya..
ExtrudedDingus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 03:14 AM   #8
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Yeah, it seems like a feature that would be nice to have as a render option under contour rendering - "render base wire" or something.

Anyway, time is important, so I'm just going to render it out base with wire, then smoothed, then textured.

I'm looking for a little advice re the turntable scene. The camera is set up, the background is just an image plane with a ramp, and the shadow is actually a plane with a circular ramp controlling it's transparency. The material is surface shader > ambient occlusion texture so no lights are used.

What are your thoughts on the background? I think it is prety dull and lifeless, but I was trying to get away from having a flat colour. Suggestions as to what to use, colour/plane/geometry wise would be appreciated to make this more appealing.

cheers

gubar
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rendersmall.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	10.4 KB
ID:	39404  
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 10:10 PM   #9
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

how bout a bit of bump mapping?
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.