SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Polygon Split Tool problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2003, 09:00 AM   #1
schmick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Polygon Split Tool problem

I want to put a split where the red line is, but i can't get it to snap to the edge no matter where i start the split from (top or bottom).

Any ideas on why that might be?

schmick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 11:57 AM   #2
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

maybe its because you've got edges (unseen ones) between the 2 edges you want to split
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 01:03 PM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Check it in Wireframe mode, and then try selecting the whole thing in edge-selection mode just to be safe
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 01:03 PM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Good eye Nem by the way
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 08:31 PM   #5
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Well, I don't know if Schmick solved this problem or not, but now I'm having the same one! I can't get the second vertice to snap to an edge. I've moved faces around to make sure there are no unconnected vertices, carefully observed everything in all component modes, moved various vertices around, merged the surrounding vertices, but can't get figure out what's wrong! Any ideas?
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 09:46 PM   #6
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

have you tried splitting form the opposite direction? That works for me sometimes.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 11:04 PM   #7
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Oh yes. I've tried that several times. It's not that big a deal I suppose. It's in a spot you wouldn't usually look, but I still wonder why this is happening. I have had this problem many times and have always been able to do something to get it to work, but this is insane. There is no doubt that there are no loose ends in the geometry. I guess it's a bug.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 11:22 PM   #8
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Tried enabling the heads up display for the poly count and drag selecting each vertex one by one and looking at the selected verts count at the same time? Some times it looks like one vert but there are several on top of each other...

Another possibility is that the normals are pointing in opposite directions in the adjacent faces you're trying to split on...

...just guessing...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2003, 11:52 PM   #9
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Ah! Normals! I tried messing with those, but had no success. I know nothing about how to manipulate them or see which way they are facing. I tried reading the help faq on them, but couldn't understand it. I really don't understand what normals are for in the first place. I bet if I could figure out how to mess with them, it'd work. And there's no use in counting the vertices because I have tried merging them several times. There are absolutely no overlaping vertices. This I am sure of. Someone teach me about normals or give me a site that will! In the mean time, I'm going to try to read the help stuff again.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2003, 12:02 AM   #10
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Normals are just basically "invisible" vectors showing which way the face is looking at. You can see them by turning on Display -> Polygon Components -> Normals (or something). Only thing you are interested in this case to do with them is to flip them to the other side if needed with Edit Polygons -> Normals -> Reverse.

*edit*
If you turn on backface culling you're gonna see only the "normal" sides of the faces...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2003, 12:14 AM   #11
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Well crap. That didn't work either. Crap, crap, crap.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2003, 01:59 AM   #12
Nem
Subscriber
 
Nem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Faringdon, UK
Posts: 1,480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i think i know what hte problem is and how to avoid, but not how to solve it
i ran into it today when modelling a house, basically, ur trying to split an object that has already been split so many times in different places. like with a cube, if you want to have 2 faces being made from one original face, then you would normally make one split right? but playing it safe you should split all the way around the cube in the same direction, that way u can avoid problems like this one where you've got unfinished splits as it were
thats my problem anyway
try not to split in unnessecary places, and when you do, makes sure its the split starts, goes all the way around and comes back to the starting point

that was very hard to explain :S
__________________
- Simon

My Website: www.Glass-Prison.com
Nem is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.