Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 07-08-2008, 12:45 AM   #1
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Creating an object in the center of the stage??

I have a question that im sure is easily answered...when i create an object it just appears where ever my cursor is on the screen, i know there is a way so that any object is always created at the 0, 0, 0, coordinated right in the cented of the world....anyone know where to change the settings for that.
Thanks
BRady
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 01:25 AM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,459
Thanks: 14
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Turn off interactive creation. Also turning it off on polygons doesn't mean its turned off on NURBS.
Attached Thumbnails
 
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 04:23 AM   #3
Soulrider911
Subscriber
 
Soulrider911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: California
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the help, one more quick question im sure you know the answer to, how do i change the units of measurement...like form inches to feet....then if i remember correctly after i change inches to feet i need to change the clipping on the camera or the stage dissapears at any zooming out
thanks
Soulrider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 06:47 AM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,459
Thanks: 14
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

Thats changed in the Windows/Settings and Preferences/Preferences, its in the 'Settings" section and if you have to change the clipping plane, the 'Camera' settings is below that, of course you can change this on the cameras in your scene individually.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 11:59 AM   #5
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I'm gonna say thanks to that one aswell as it's been driving me mad, should of ask'd myself really.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.