SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / plotting in motionBuilder
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-08-2008, 05:04 AM   #1
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default plotting in motionBuilder

weird thing happening.

facts:

because the mocapHips differ so much from myRigHips in size (my hips are about twice as long on x-axis than the mocap hips, which were calibrated wrong during recording in my opinion), I used to bake the mocap anim to my rig in maya with a special setup where all joints above the hip just pass rotation values and below the hips it is all ik and point constraints.

now I wanted to do everything in MB. which looks nice too - until I plot the animation from mocap to my rig. instantly after plotting process my costum rig hips shrink to the size of the mocap hips. now my massive worker Character looks like a little boy with a stick in the ass.

Iīve allready tried to debug and used different settings on the solving and retargeting tab, but none of it helps. I am pretty sure this shrinking of joints/effectors isnīt supposed to happen.


pic:
yellow = mocap
white = myRig
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hips.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	92.6 KB
ID:	40003  
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2008, 05:21 AM   #2
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

nevermind. must be some sort of bug.
rebuilt the scene from scratch. no error. canīt even recreate it.
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2008, 10:56 PM   #3
anasasis
Registered User
 
anasasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

one pipeline which i usually follow is plotting the motion capture data to a character (skeleton) in motion builder exporting the skeleton to maya then binding in maya which has a better paint weight system. Just make sure you export the master node for the skeleton so you can scale it properly. With a skeleton in maya you can just scale the hips .
anasasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2008, 11:25 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by anasasis
one pipeline which i usually follow is plotting the motion capture data to a character (skeleton) in motion builder exporting the skeleton to maya then binding in maya which has a better paint weight system. Just make sure you export the master node for the skeleton so you can scale it properly. With a skeleton in maya you can just scale the hips .
I wouldent do it that way, I would make, bind and paint weights in maya, then go to MB to add the data from one skeleton to another, that way you can plot the data to the character and adjust it to stop any interpenitrations in motion builder (using its realtime animation) which is a faster approach than adjusting the animation in maya.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2008, 05:21 AM   #5
Falott
Registered User
 
Falott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: vienna
Posts: 1,095
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
Default

I am happy to tell that after about a month now I kind of getting it now with MB.

what I can advice to any noobie like me is paying attention on how to use the layer and switching between IK and FK. it turned out that I have to best and most predictable results when plotting VERY often. now I usually key on 1 layer above the base at the most. as son as I am happy with what I can get with this one layer I plot the keys immediately onto the skeleton as a kind of backup and go back to the empty layer. this prevents the rig from goin crazy when I have to key IK and FK on more than 1 layer. I canīt exactly tell - itīs still all intuitive by now, but I had some issues when keying different layers, switching between IK and FK. every time I dragged the from IK to FK or back the skeleton shifted in movement. so after some while it becomes (at least to me) way too complicated keying in the right mode and not getting lost in making corrections to my own added on-top-animation.

whatsoever - MB turned out to be real fast compared to Maya with animation stuff - now look at me, who would have guessed that..? I just had to get my brain cleaned from maya workflow and wrap it around MB.

thx to all of your helps!
__________________
everything starts and ends in the right place at the right time.
Falott is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.