SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Object/Grid Relationship ...
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-09-2008, 06:31 PM   #1
mtcgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default Object/Grid Relationship ...

Whenever I'm given CAD files (.stp) to import into Maya the objects are always a mile away from the grid, floating out in some sort of world space I'm guessing is related to the working units/space of the CAD program it was created in. Even changing my working units is only a partial fix. I need these objects to be scaled to fit my grid better. I want to be able to manipulate them a little easier. For some reason these files origin axis are not relating to any Maya type space. It makes it very difficult to move/rotate/scale. Grouping and centering pivot are not working. How can I get these objects to relate to my grid properly. I'd really like to get them zeroed out at the origin axis in world space. Right now they're zeroed out somewhere in space so I can't use my attribute editor to bring them around. Any help would really be appreciated.
mtcgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2008, 04:39 AM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,485
Thanks: 15
Thanked 641 Times in 564 Posts
Default

Have you tried grid snapping?
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2008, 12:22 PM   #3
mtcgs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Yes. It moves the geometry to a new point ... but not the Maya grid. I'm going to try deleting history, grouping, moving as close to center origin as possible and freezing transforms. I'm floundering here and will try any and all suggestions. thanks so much for your reply. This isn't one of the more interesting posts so its been hard to get replies.
mtcgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2008, 01:00 PM   #4
alexanderH
Subscriber
 
alexanderH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

the grid is really irrelevant. You already have your geometry. All of your axis information is the same.
Just turn of your grid in perspective views. The grids should be in place for every other view though.
__________________
Peace, love and Anarchy~~~~~~~
______________________________
Wip:
iMac
Full House Project
Arch Viz Reel

My Website is Finally Back up!

“Welcome to the Internet. Where the men are men, the women are men, and the children are FBI agents.”
alexanderH is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.