SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / creating material problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-10-2008, 09:06 AM   #1
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default creating material problem

Ive just got a full version of maya. Im doing my first little project in it, copying some architectural visualisation of a row of houses. Ive modelled and want to start putting the textures on. But something strange is happening. I create a new lambert material, say, (its happened with blinn as well) and when i click the colour map button and select file and browse to my texture ive prepared in photoshop, the whole material goes invisible. Whats happening is that as soon as I map a picture file to the colour of a material, something is being mapped to the transparency too. I break the connection of the transparency attribute, and raise it/lower it back so that there is no transparency, but the material is then just plain white, and not showing the texture file mapped to the colour attribute. Im working exactly the same as i used to in the PLE. Any ideas? the file is a tif file.ive converted it to a jpeg also. Nothing. Just a white material.
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 09:27 AM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

hi

do you have screen shots?

when you attach the colour file, go to the hypershade and click the inputs and outputs button with the material selected. you will be able to have a look at whats going on better. you could also try attaching your file in the hypershade...
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 09:51 AM   #3
BennyK
Registered User
 
BennyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: IL
Posts: 738
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

The transparency problem probably has nothing to do with the white material.
I happens to me pretty often but when I re-open the scene (and Maya) it works fine...
(until the next time it get's weird and I re-open Maya again )

What version of Maya are you using?

Benny
__________________
When in doubt, delete history and freeze transformations.

My latest snake game
(Requires DirectX9 SDK and Framework)
BennyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 09:59 AM   #4
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

alright hammer, i wish i did have screen shots, but my keyboard is old and decrepid and i havnt been able to get the prnt screen to work.


. I think my problem lies in the file format/size. Im doing the roof of a house. Ive used a repeating grey tile texture which wasnt showing up on the material. However.I just painted all over the grey texture with a bright blue, and the texture is actually on the material, just not visible to the naked eye.

sigh. dumbass.

I used about an 1100 by 1100 texture size for a piece of geometry that relatively isnt that big. which might have been the problem? the tile outlines were probably so far out of focus the whole texture just blured into a white/grey monotone when on the material in the hypershade.
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 10:03 AM   #5
ben hobden
Subscriber
 
ben hobden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 13
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Default

ive just got maya 2008. Up until now ive been using maya with games in mind, so texturing has been a case of squeezing everything down, and being as economical as possible. Im going away from that at the moment, as, to all intents and purposes, im a beginner with texturing. In the PLE version the resolution of image I could export for texturing was limited, so its nice to not have that limitation now. And for this house im basically mapping each part of the house and texturing it individually. to hell with file sizes.
ben hobden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2008, 12:40 PM   #6
Havoq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

not sure if this is related to your problem, because im new to this, but i had a similair problem that my texture was not showing up, i had to set the alpha to use to transparancy for the psd file, otherwise it would show up white. you might even go so far as to delete the alpha channel in your psd file.

Havoq is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.