SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2008, 09:23 AM   #1
goode400
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oxford. UK
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default edge loop delay

Hi all. I'm sure this is something really simple but......
When I add edge loops there is a delay between clicking where I want the loop and the loop appearing. This delay gets longer and longer with each loop added. Is there some setting i can change??

Thanks in advance.
__________________
www.david-goode.com
goode400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 10:44 AM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

what's your hardware specs?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 11:16 AM   #3
goode400
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oxford. UK
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

xeon 2.66 (2x4core)
nvidia GTX280
4gb ram

.....should be fast enough....
__________________
www.david-goode.com
goode400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 11:17 AM   #4
goode400
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oxford. UK
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I can get the delay back down again by deleting the history every 10 moves or so, but surely this should not be necessary...
__________________
www.david-goode.com
goode400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 12:04 PM   #5
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

You shouldent have to delete the history every ten moves. sounds a bit strange that one mate.

Is it a heavy scene that your working on?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 01:20 PM   #6
goode400
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oxford. UK
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It has 38,000 polys
__________________
www.david-goode.com
goode400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 01:21 PM   #7
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

lol, screenshot?
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 02:10 PM   #8
goode400
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oxford. UK
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh, is that big then? It's nothing special, just a basic figure for posing and sculpting in mudbox.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	basemesh2.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	73.8 KB
ID:	40630  
__________________
www.david-goode.com
goode400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 02:28 PM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Yeah thats quite a dense mesh, which might be the problem man.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 09:33 PM   #10
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

I saw that word 'edge loop' and came straight from the 'cave' to see what the hell was going down. Answer has been solved by the screen grabbed model!

Always start basic, you dont need to have a mesh that dense, its going to get divided for detail in Mudbox.

Always prep the model as best possible at the lowest amount of polys so its optimised and ready for texturing - this will help with the creation of uvs. Otherwise it could be a long haul for that process alone and could lead to blindness or worse LOL

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extremely annoying delay on input boxes in firefox David Members Lounge 0 01-12-2010 05:57 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.