SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / problem with light creation
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2008, 08:01 PM   #1
sifidis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default problem with light creation

i'm using a point light (it's the first time i'm using a light). i did exactly what the 'digital tutors' dvd says about creating lights, but something seems to go wrong. the first time i did it a pair of axises came out and not a single light that is shown in the dvd (i'm using unlimited 2008, so does the dvd). when i rendered everything became black. i checked the intensity was high and the colour white and no decay was set on. the next time i launched maya when i hit create>lights>point light the light only appeared in the attribute editor and not in the scene so i could locate it. any help please? the object i'm trying to light is shown below. i want to give it nice sharp black shadows and also give it a shiny metallic look (that is the second question;how?)


Last edited by sifidis : 04-11-2008 at 08:03 PM.
sifidis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 09:38 PM   #2
Ajmooch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The two axes that it shows are the focus point-The point at which the light is aimed. The second is the light itself.

You can access these by pressing T or hitting Show Manipulator Tool. If you use the normal move tool then you move the whole apparatus.

Make sure that you can see the center of the grid when you create the light (unless you have interactive creation on) otherwise you won't be able to see it.

And before you render, hit 6 and then 7 in order to see a lighting preview and get the shadows how you want.

If you're in wireframe view and you hit 7 it won't show the light, so make sure you've got it in a shaded view beforehand.

As to your second question, apply a phong or blinn material to make it look shiny-In my experience Phongs are closer to plastic, while Blinns are closer to metal.
__________________
~I have no idea what I'm doing~
Ajmooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 10:14 PM   #3
sifidis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i follwed your instructions. it's all white this time when i render it. the first picture is when i hit 6 and then 7 and the second the rendered one..



sifidis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 11:11 PM   #4
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,494
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

At first I thought you were displaying the alpha channel but I see some shading on the right side of the model, it could be that the scene is over lit or you could have turned up the ambient or diffuse on the shader waaay too high.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 12:40 AM   #5
Ajmooch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, like Gect said, that looks way too bright. Also, you may want to (Actually, you most definitely want to) scale back the reflections on your material (Just do it through the attribute editor, reflection is right by color/transparency) to like .2 or .1 rather than .5 (the default) which is really, really high.
__________________
~I have no idea what I'm doing~
Ajmooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 04:30 AM   #6
sifidis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

much better now

but i still don't have the metallic look (i want to give it the look of the metallic spheres of yours, Genny.. i saw your cg portfolio)
linkhttp://gect.cgsociety.org/gallery/657266/

Last edited by sifidis : 05-11-2008 at 04:33 AM.
sifidis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 02:05 PM   #7
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,494
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

The key to it is high reflectivity and an environment for it to reflect, then you can tweak from there.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 02:21 PM   #8
sifidis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i increased the reflectivity but i don't know how to create an enviroment.. i tried to create a plane but nothing changed. can you please tell me the simplest enviroment i can create in order for the object to reflect?
sifidis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 05:23 PM   #9
sifidis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

it is metal after creating another light and changing the blinn settings, but you're right if there's nothing to reflect... thanks, anyway.

cheers.

L.
sifidis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 05:43 AM   #10
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,494
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

In the image you mentioned, I used Mental Ray and Mental Ray material so it's a little different since you're using the software renderer and one of its drawbacks is that it can't render out blurred reflections and that may or may not be a problem when rendering out your metals. And as far as making an environment, you can use simple objects with high incandescence on the shaders to simulate bright areas like a window, an open door etc, you could even create a sphere around your scene and place an image on it, there is also the use of HDRI, it will influence the lighting and reflections but you'd have to ditch the software renderer so that's a different story.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 04:08 PM   #11
sifidis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i finally made it! thank you, guys.
sifidis is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.