Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 30-11-2008, 07:24 AM   #1
Hygami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Extrude problem

Hi guys,

I'm just getting started with 3d since i have ben drawing for several years now.
So I'm about to model a hand after i got familar to the basic tools and navigating.

Nevertheless, there is something that bothers me, nothing dramatic but it's just disturbing....

Everytime i extrude this thing appears around my extrude arrows

can annyone help me?
Attached Thumbnails
 
Hygami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2008, 08:07 AM   #2
quadfactor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lviv, Ukraine
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Clicking on the blue spot you'll be switching axis' orientation from world (XYZ) to local (selected polygon's onw XYZ based on direction of normal) and vice versa.
Talking abuot cubes, after clicking on one of 'em u'll switch to outline mode. You'll be able to scale up or (mostly) down selected polygond, meanwhile creating additional polygons around selection.
quadfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2008, 08:13 AM   #3
Hygami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Atleast i now know what it is, thanks!

but how do i get rid of it?

did I click on a button by mistake or something?

thanks so far!
Hygami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2008, 08:22 AM   #4
quadfactor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lviv, Ukraine
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No, it's default setting. All this stuff is most common set of extrude helpers. It's normal.
quadfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2008, 08:35 AM   #5
Hygami
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ah alright then,

thanks
Hygami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extrude Manipulator does not appear Celebrus Technical Issues 11 15-10-2013 09:37 PM
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.