SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / channel box problem
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-11-2008, 06:40 PM   #1
tetra86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default channel box problem

Hi there, im really new to maya and have been trying to teach myself some basics recently. My problem is that when i create a polygon shape and bring up my channels box by pressing ctrl A twice i dont seem to have a inputs section to add subdivisions to the polygon shape is there an option to bring this up?? im using maya 2008 any help would be greatly appriciated cheers
tetra86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2008, 06:53 PM   #2
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Most likely you have the construction history toggled off. It should be one of the icons on the status line...looks like a piece of parchment. Make sure it's active.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2008, 07:02 PM   #3
tetra86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yo thanks alot mate that sorted my problem now i can start properly modelling
tetra86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2008, 08:27 PM   #4
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey tetra86, since you're new and learning Maya, you might wanna check out this video tutorial: http://jrwhoart.ruggfamily.com/tutorials.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 05:24 AM   #5
lobbot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NitroLiq
Most likely you have the construction history toggled off. It should be one of the icons on the status line...looks like a piece of parchment. Make sure it's active.
Thank you very much. You have no idea how much time I spend trying to figure a way to reactivate the inputs menu. (Maya's official manual does not even mention this).
lobbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 10:15 PM   #6
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lobbot
(Maya's official manual does not even mention this).
i'm pretty sure it does, it just does it in odd random places using proper terminology that new comers won't know... or it's implied somewhere
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.