SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya 8.5 memory useage going up every second
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2008, 03:33 AM   #1
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Angry Maya 8.5 memory useage going up every second

I thought it was just me me using to big textures at first but my Maya 8.5 is crashing alot. When watching the task manager I noticed maya.exe going up and up and up.

Anyone have any idea why it is doing this ??

At the moment I`m just modeling (some more work on my woman) there are no textures and poly count is just 2000)

While wrighting this it has gone from 1,400,000k to 1,700,000k under memory useage and I am betting it will crash any time now.

This is very frustrating because I use 8.5 to do all modeling as I have some very nice pluggins for it that will not work in 2008 - err

** update - Yep just crashed out with a runtime error with no further reason **
__________________
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 08:02 AM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Not too sure man, seems strange, as it only just started to do this or has it been doing it for a while?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 09:22 AM   #3
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

I have no idea

Just reinstalled windows about 3 months ago and I installed maya 7 - 8.5 and 2008 - For the most part I use 2008, but model in 8.5 as I have a lot of good tools for 8.5. So most of the work the last few months have been in 2008 - or première (lots of editing work lately) so I don`t know how long the problem has been there. Area has been no help - just told me to update.

My friend has told me that there was an update for 8.5 (ser pack 1 or something) - but can`t find a place to download and try that so he`s bringing it over 2mo. - I`m hoping it will sort it out. If not just have to lose the tools and stick to 2008 - man

I`m pissed that my auto update argument ran out with 2008 ext2.
__________________
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 08:33 PM   #4
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

Errrr the install of ser pack1 did nothing and on further looking its happening with 2008 as well. Even if I open maya and just leave it with nothing in the scene the memory is just going up - what the hell is going on ???

would say its a graphic card thing but other programs that are graphics based run fine - photoshop, mudbox no problem at all

Going for a reinstall of windows I think as I just watched it go up from 9,000k to 304,700k in just 2 min.

arrrrrrrrrrr
__________________

Last edited by tweetytunes : 05-12-2008 at 08:38 PM.
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 02:38 AM   #5
marlonjohn
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,937
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Very odd, especially if its only happening in Maya? hmm
marlonjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 09:21 AM   #6
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

I had that issue some time back, it was my video card, I'd just sit and watch it just climb and climb until it crashed, then my viewport started looking like a garbled mess.
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 07:35 PM   #7
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

Well that seems strange - I have never had a problem with the card before.

Well reinstalling window s today so we will see
__________________
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 07:46 PM   #8
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Thats mental, maybe wrong drivers?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 10:02 PM   #9
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

I found the source of the problem but not the problem itself.

After reinstalling windows I tested maya and worked on it all day yestaday with no problems.

but 2day I started it up and the problems were back. The only differenace was I had copy my old prefs back in to my doc`s. So I went in and deleted my prefs and puff problem gone.

I have no idea what it was persicelly but resetting my prefs has seem to have done the trick
__________________
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:39 PM   #10
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Sounds like a memory leak. Google "maya memory leak" and you'll see a few hits regarding 8.5 (I personally didn't have these issues with 8.5 but I did have similar issues recently testing 2009.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 01:09 AM   #11
tweetytunes
Subscriber
 
tweetytunes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bolton - UK
Posts: 2,454
Thanks: 63
Thanked 162 Times in 155 Posts
Default

Yer I came across alot of chatter about that - but I have been using 8.5 for soooo long on this very setup and never had a problem - it just started out of the blue. Well it seems to have gone now so here`s hoping it does not come back as there does not seem like there is a fix for the memory leak problems for maya.
__________________
tweetytunes is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.