Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 08-12-2008 , 09:38 AM
Subscriber

Fix eyes translating differently from rest of body?

Hey guys,

i'm rather new to Maya, and tried tinkering around with creating some simple stuff. Well i've made a character and rigged him up and made a simple walk cycle with him, but there's a problem when I try and move his whole body around. Now since I am still learning, my methods are most likely wrong, but here's what I did:

I wanted independent control over the main body mesh and the eyes, so I simply parented a pair of polySpheres to the main body mesh for his eyes. However now when I try and translate him along Z to move him forward/back, his eyes don't move with his body. Is there any simple way to fix this, as since i've already made a walk cycle it'd be a bit frustrating having to do everything again.

Sorry, forgot to scale the pic down. Here's what's happening:

https://img68.imageshack.us/img68/517/alieneyes2sg8.jpg

Last edited by Mike45450; 08-12-2008 at 01:17 PM.
# 2 08-12-2008 , 02:40 PM
Subscriber
i think your problem would be that you parented to the body MESH and not the skeleton.

that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
# 3 08-12-2008 , 03:35 PM
Lead Modeler - Framestore
parent the eyes to the head joint, this will stop the problem

_J

# 4 08-12-2008 , 04:16 PM
Subscriber

Originally posted by Jay
parent the eyes to the head joint, this will stop the problem

_J

Unfortunately I already tried that and it didn't work.

# 5 08-12-2008 , 05:08 PM
Make sure they arent connected to the body in any way as well then freeze the transforms too.