Maya for 3D Printing - Rapid Prototyping
In this course we're going to look at something a little different, creating technically accurate 3D printed parts.
# 1 20-12-2008 , 09:27 AM
Subscriber

Hypershade does not appear correctly??

Noob here,

Intending to set an image plane, upon starting maya, I go to hypershade to work with the cameras & find I have no camera tab; see pic.

Does this image look proper. Notice the 'show' filter button look kind of jacked too. I am wondering if my installation is working properly or do you always have to "add a tab" just to work with something?

user added image

Attached Thumbnails
# 2 20-12-2008 , 06:05 PM
Looks to me more like a graphics card problem, whats the specs?

"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
# 3 20-12-2008 , 09:08 PM
Subscriber
That would be awful. it's a relatively new 8800 GTX.

So when I start maya I should see all the tabs (Materials, Cameras, Textures, etc...) running across the upper tab area? I don't have to toggle a setting somewhere to show them?

# 4 20-12-2008 , 10:07 PM
Super Moderator
I've had Hypershade weirdness on my display #2, I think it just has its share of bugs but update the drivers anyways.

- Genny
# 5 20-12-2008 , 11:19 PM
You should have everything, if menus are missing etc its gfx card OR if your running large fonts 120 that can mess with the menus, drop em back to standard.

# 6 21-12-2008 , 12:58 AM
Subscriber
looks like my fonts are at 96.

If it's my graphics card, that was a waste of $500+ dollars. But you'd think it would show up elsewhere too but I haven't seen a problem anywhere else.

It just occurred to me I recently updated my directX to Nov 2008 version. Maybe I'll try uninstalling that & re installing an earlier version just to see if that helps, but I don't readily see the connection there.

# 7 21-12-2008 , 03:42 AM
Subscriber
i'll be somewhat surprised if it did fix it, because i thought Maya was OpenGL based

that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"