SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / problem selecting faces
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-01-2009, 05:43 PM   #1
lewis1607
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default problem selecting faces

Hi,

I wondered if anybody could help me with a problem of selecting faces. Suddenly I am only able to see a face selected if I am in the wireframe mode. If I am in the shaded mode it will not highlight the marked face even though it has been selected. I have tried to look through various settings and tried to reset them. I have also reset all settings to default mode without any luck and finally I have forced maya to reset to the original mode by shutting down the program and removing the prefs file within Maya. None of this has worked. Can anybody help?
lewis1607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2009, 06:58 PM   #2
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Can you still select the object if not ,can you create and select another polygon object?
Because you could have (accidentilly) masked polygon surfaces or have your current object in a reference layer.
If none of this is the case it could be an hardwareproblem(card not powerful enough or broken) or maybe the wrong drivers which can cause some(minor) inconvinience.
Last thing you could try is that you first turn on polycount(under display and then it's called objectdetails i believe) and then when having faces selected drag over the object if you have selected anything it will show in the polycount(just look at the numbers, topleft in the viewport)so you can see if it's only a graphical glitch or more.
If it's the latter i think your f*cked and probably be better off reinstalling maya.
Good luck anyway
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2009, 10:33 PM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,485
Thanks: 15
Thanked 641 Times in 564 Posts
Default

Screenshot please
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2009, 11:51 PM   #4
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ive had that problem before.....it ended up being i deleted the material from the object...i dunno how lol...maybe try reassigning it a mat..see if it works.
__________________
Toyota Supra WIP


I create feeling in others that they themseleves donít understand.
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2009, 06:28 PM   #5
lewis1607
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Selecting faces-no luck!

Thanks for all your replies. I have tried all of them and tried restarting Maya several replies but all ending with the same result. The faces are being selected as I can see with the polyface count but they are just not showing in shaded mode. Maybe mastone is right that I may have a hardware problem but I need to try and re-install Maya to see if that works.
lewis1607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2009, 06:35 PM   #6
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

send me your file.....
ejmattison@yahoo.com and ill see what I can do or even if i get the same problem
__________________
Toyota Supra WIP


I create feeling in others that they themseleves donít understand.
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2009, 11:40 AM   #7
lewis1607
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hi 99 GsTUrbo

It is happening on every file in Maya and even when i create new files it is still happening. So I know it has nothing to do with reselecting a mat. to the object. I am currently working from a laptop and I have discovered something else that my keyboard is not functioning 100%correct, it could be a problem with the computer.
lewis1607 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2009, 02:56 PM   #8
99GsTurbo
Subscriber
 
99GsTurbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if its happening to all your files...mastone could be correct with it being a hardware problem
__________________
Toyota Supra WIP


I create feeling in others that they themseleves donít understand.
99GsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Keep faces on Sircharles Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 07-12-2010 12:20 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.