SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Polygons versus Subdiv surface
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2009, 03:42 AM   #1
Dutch_Can
Subscriber
 
Dutch_Can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Far West In Alberta
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Polygons versus Subdiv surface

I hope someone can help me but is it possible to use subdiv surfaces with 3d engines or does have to be polygons?

Thanks
Mike
Dutch_Can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 11:51 AM   #2
Jr.Who
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Umů I'm not sure, but I'd just stick with polys. Sub D's seem dead now, since the smooth preview mesh in Maya 2008 (or whatever it's called lol).
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 08:07 PM   #3
younglion
Registered User
 
younglion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: t-dot
Posts: 646
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you can use subd with render engines, digital tutors does it all the time esp with their modeling tutorials, but personally i use polygons because its faster to render as compared with subds.
__________________
wip
Kleemann cl65
my concept car
younglion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 07:25 AM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jr.Who
since the smooth preview mesh in Maya 2008 (or whatever it's called lol).
Whats the smooth mesh preview got to do with sub-D's??? Its a differrent modeling set with its own ups and downs, thats like saing that the smooth mesh preview had killed nurbs....

Most people have gone to polys as they are more versatile and with the advent of Zbrush easier to get the high frequency detials in (which is where you would have had to use sub-Ds to get to a level then go form there in PS)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:59 PM   #5
Dutch_Can
Subscriber
 
Dutch_Can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Far West In Alberta
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Fella's don't start a fight the reason I ask is that I am modeling F1 cars for gp4 and rfactor, I just want to know if their 3d engines could handle subdiv surfaces.
Cause if i do a smooth preview or apply smooth on it they turn out more than 400 k in polys which is way to high.
Dutch_Can is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting angolare and round polygons together? Red_Roxxor Modeling 19 04-02-2011 02:50 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.