SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-02-2009, 11:53 AM   #1
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default Rendering 60 FPS

hi guys
rendering the scene with 60 FPS, am I doing right setting?
render setting,
Frame range/ by frame 1= 30 FPS 500= 60 FPS
if you know different way please let me know
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	maya-60-fps.jpg
Views:	2102
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	41409  
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2009, 12:08 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Its correct depending on what framerate the scene was animated in. If you go to animation preferences > settings it will show what frame rate has been used for playback etc, this is the frame rate it will adopt when creating playblasts etc.

So if you have an animation which you have been previewing at 30fps and it looks good then putting 0.5 in as a value will look correct at 60fps, but if you havnt changed the settings from the default value of 24fps for playback (film standard) then it probably wont look correct.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2009, 12:20 PM   #3
dubai3d
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Default

you are right lourie, no I didn't change it in the setting, could you please explain where can I change it? is that what you mean in the image, I dont have 60 FPS but I do have NTSC 60 FPS. what do you think?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	maya-60-fps.jpg
Views:	2036
Size:	80.1 KB
ID:	41410  
dubai3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2009, 12:42 PM   #4
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

changing the render setting from 1 frame to half a frame is not the place to do it, you should chnage it in the animation preferences and ensure all the animation is done with the FPS at 60.

Then test it and render it.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.