SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2009, 09:16 PM   #1
Dutch_Can
Subscriber
 
Dutch_Can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Far West In Alberta
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Normals problem

Hi there people maybe and hopefully you guys can help me out. A budy of mine is helping me out with a paint job on a formula 1 car but he cant see what he is painting he assigned a material and applied the texture but nothing happens it stays black hitting 6 and reversing normals doesn't work, funny thing is that i have the same files and here everything works fine. what could this be.

Thanks for any answer





Dutch_Can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 11:17 PM   #2
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

are these his or your screen shots? does he have the texture file? and is the texture file being loaded in from the right place?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 03:06 AM   #3
Dutch_Can
Subscriber
 
Dutch_Can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Far West In Alberta
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes these are his screen shots and yes he has the right texture file the same as I use and I don't know if he loads them from the right place, that is what is the right place ?
Dutch_Can is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2009, 11:45 AM   #4
jsprogg
Lifetime Member
 
jsprogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

if you have given him the scene and the texture files then he will have to open the attribute editor for the materials in question and rebrowse to the texture files since the path will be set from your pc and his file will most likely be in a different place.
If its a normal issue then setting the normals to face should cure it .
__________________


2 x Modeling Challenge Winner
jsprogg is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 06:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 02:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM
Normals Funkyness 3dStudent Modeling 5 04-12-2010 02:10 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.